The Whole World is Pink and we LOVE it

By Kristina Blanco, Sr. Project Manager, The Spectrum Services Group

The ‘Go Pink’ theme has gained even more traction this year – and we LOVE it! From Ford TV ads, to store-bought items including anything from laundry detergent to whiteout and everywhere in between (including Kimberly’s bag of horse feed!) you just can’t escape this one! If you haven’t already, it’s time to get on the Pink train!

Even the world of Social Media has joined the pink party! We recently came across a hospital competition catching fire in the United States and Canada put on by pinkglovedance.com encouraging awareness. Click here for an entry we found on Facebook that we really enjoyed.

As I watched my favorite football team (Go Chargers!) beat the Kansas City Chiefs a few weeks ago donning their pink attire I thought to myself, “I wonder how many people who are wearing pink are also supporting the cause?” If each person gave just $5, think of the research that could be done to save the lives of our mothers, friends, sisters, and daughters! I don’t say this to pressure anyone, but I want to challenge each of us not only to promote awareness, but to do whatever else we can to help find a cure once and for all.

As many of you know, this cause is near and dear to our hearts here at The Spectrum Services Group, as one of our own – Joanne Russell was diagnosed a few years ago. We are extremely thankful that she was able to beat it and are happy to provide you with an update from her:

“I am doing great and am happy to report I am Cancer FREE!  I thank God every day for allowing me to have cancer because he has used this challenge in my life to bring about so many good things. I have come through this trial with a greater confidence which I am putting to work through a women’s ministry I’ve started with my church called REAL Women. I’ve been given a new perspective which leads me to appreciate each and every person around me, and not waste time on hurts, bitterness, and anger.”

We are so proud of Joanne and all the other women who have stood up to this diagnosis and have fought it with all their might. Our thoughts and prayers are with those who are still fighting, and those who have lost a loved one to the battle. We have each made our $5 donation, if you wish to join us please click here.

